top of page

Post-Conference and Progress Report

After the conference on my piece, I felt a little more comfortable with the direction I was heading in. While I've made a slight transition in my topic, focusing in on cultures and relationship dynamics within a television show rather than a full scope of the show itself using intellectualism, it was fairly easy to talk about. I merely had to elaborate on steps that I was taking. Since I'm using a software that I'd never used before, but am also keeping other resources available on campus in mind such as the Adobe Suite, there might be some obstacles associated with it that I'm not seeing quite yet. Also, since I've narrowed my topic, I've found it a little more difficult to find sources.

On the subject of sources, there are several academic sources, some I've used in the past and some that I've found more recently, on intellectualism and anti-intellectualism. There are a few available on Doctor Who, but not many, so some of the resources I've found on the subject are non-academic. I've found several, some of them will have to be actual clips from Doctor Who, I'm confident that I will find ways to unite the tv show with intellectualism.

This is where I will need the assistance of my committee of readers because my interdisciplinary combination might not have ever been made in the past. Dr. Deaton knows political rhetoric and general media rhetoric quite well, and with the direction in which my project is headed, I find that I'm going to need to discuss politics in some way. I'm still not going to take a stance within my piece because I feel as though it will detract from the argument that I'm trying to make. John Greenfield has done work in the past with British media, and he understands the timeliness of intellectualism and anti-intellectualism. It will be easy to communicate with him, and he'll have a better idea of different things to focus on and analyze.

Currently, I am in the process of sending an email to my readers. My next step in this regard will be to have a conversation with them about the turn that my project has taken. Hopefully, I'll be able to speak with each of them, schedules permitting, by the end of the week. My other goal is to, generally, find more sources. I won't be able to use all of the same materials I've done for my article series, but some of them will prove useful. I have several for the purpose of the annotated bibliography, but still not as many as I will likely need. I've chosen a general format from the templates available to me on Bookwright, the software I'm using, and I believe I will be able to at least use some of the graphics I've designed and collected from my article series. At this point, I don't have any immediate concerns. Since the subject matter of some of my articles are already decided upon, I'll be able to complete everything in a timely manner.

bottom of page